Football recruiting intelligence
Football Financial
A database app for Oregon State that includes recruiting, transfer portal activity, personnel, roster outlook, news, and more.
Oregon State · Financial outlook
The money behind Beaver football
New donor support and a rebuilt Pac-12 are reshaping Oregon State’s finances. Here is what the public record establishes about athlete funding, department finances, and the revenue supporting football.
- 2026–27 national benefits cap
- ≈$21.58M
- Valley Challenge target
- Up to $48M
- 2026–27 football player pool
- Undisclosed
Per participating school, across sports. This is a ceiling, not OSU’s disclosed spending.[1]
Three years · all athletics · conditional donor match announced May 2026.[2]
No complete, current football allocation or player payment ledger verified in this review.
01 / Athlete funding
A bigger funding opportunity, with conditions
The Valley Foundation committed $24 million to an athletics-wide revenue-sharing initiative. To unlock the full match, Oregon State must raise another $8 million from other donors each year for three years. The $48 million headline is a campaign target, not a football payroll or proof that all the money has arrived.[2]
Conditional over three years
$8M each year for three years
If all matching conditions are met
A fully matched campaign would average $16 million per year across athletics. That is arithmetic from the announcement, not a confirmed annual budget or an additional $16 million to add to every existing pool. OSU has not disclosed a complete current football split in the materials reviewed.[2][5]
The College Sports Commission now lists the 2026–27 benefits cap at approximately $21.58 million per school. It covers countable school-provided benefits across sports; it is not a football-only NIL limit. Legitimate third-party NIL is a separate funding channel, subject to applicable reporting and review rules.[1][17]
OSU’s current public guidance directs revenue-sharing support through Our Beaver Nation and commercial NIL opportunities through Beaver Sports Properties and Woodshop. Use the current program information when following funding channels; older collective announcements may describe arrangements that have since changed.[5]
02 / Budget & debt
Department obligations still matter
| Measure | Reported actual | Scope |
|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $104.77M | All athletics; includes institutional and government support.[13][14] |
| Expenses | $100.31M | All athletics; not a football-only budget.[13][14] |
| Revenue less expenses | +$4.46M | A historical annual surplus, not a measure of unrestricted cash.[13][14] |
| Football expenses | $23.85M | Sport-assigned FY2025 expenses, already included in department spending.[14] |
NCAA filing figures as reported by The Oregonian and compiled by College Sports Finance. The original FY2025 filing was not available for direct inspection in this review. These figures are rounded historical results, not the current season’s budget.
OSU’s audited university report says athletics auxiliary revenue fell about $35 million in FY2025, largely from reduced conference payouts and ticket sales, partly offset by bowl revenue. This is the university’s accounting presentation; it should not be mixed with NCAA reporting totals. The same report’s $27 million increase refers to the previous year’s comparison.[4]
University support did not simply disappear when transfers fell: FY2026 moved some athletics support into direct university budgeting. The FY2027 packet then shows conflicting support amounts—$17.776 million and $18.132 million—in adjacent tables. This review cannot establish a single final support figure from that packet, and those support rows are already included in its totals.[15][16]
| Obligation | Balance | How to read it |
|---|---|---|
| Athletics internal loans | $119.9M | Department borrowing listed in OSU’s internal-bank report; not an annual expense.[3] |
| Reser Westside loan | $38.8M | Included in the athletics loan balance above. Matures June 2053.[3] |
| Reser Westside bridge funding | $5.9M | Temporary financing included in the athletics portfolio above; distinct from the $38.8M amortizing loan.[3] |
These are dated financing balances, not September 2026 cash, annual debt service, or funds available for player payments. University-wide debt includes many non-athletics obligations and is not football debt.
Fundraising is not the same as operating cash
OSU announced about $62 million in FY2026 athletics donor commitments across facilities, programs, and athlete support. Campaign totals may overlap the Valley Challenge and other named gifts. Restricted or multi-year commitments should not be added together as unrestricted cash available this season.[11]
03 / Pac-12 & recurring revenue
The broadcast partners are signed. OSU’s share is not public.
CBS Sports, The CW, and USA Sports have announced agreements for the rebuilt Pac-12 through 2030–31. They establish broadcast coverage, but the inspected announcements do not disclose a guaranteed annual dollar payment to Oregon State.[6][7][8]
| Channel | Current evidence | Financial implication |
|---|---|---|
| Media rights | 2026–27 to 2030–31 | Signed partners; OSU’s annual share was not disclosed in the announcements.[6][7][8] |
| Conference transition | Finite resources | Legacy settlement funds and reserves are not a permanent annual media payment.[18] |
| Mountain West litigation | Settled Aug 4, 2026 | The joint statement confirms settlement, not OSU’s cash allocation. Original disputed claims are not current debt balances.[9] |
| 2026–27 CFP | $3.18M / round | Published conference expense allowance for each participating team per round. Remaining distributions will be finalized after the January 2027 championship.[10] |
| 2026 season tickets | Prices down 15–20% | OSU’s FAQ compares prices with 2025. Sales volume and attendance determine revenue; a price cut alone is not a revenue forecast.[12] |
Media rights are one part of conference distributions. CFP, NCAA distributions, commercial income, and reserve drawdowns should not be added again if a quoted total already includes them. The $3 ticket/parking enrichment fee supports student-athlete benefit programming; the FAQ does not allocate the entire fee to direct player pay.[12]
Sources & research notes · 18 references
Reviewed September 13, 2026. Source dates and fiscal periods are shown separately. Official announcements establish commitments and policies; they do not establish cash received or individual contracts. Undisclosed values remain unknown. This is a dated research snapshot; the roster planner saves your own assumptions on this device.
- Revenue sharing: current benefits capCollege Sports Commission · Current policy, checked Sep 13, 2026
- Valley Challenge for student-athlete revenue sharingOregon State University · May 6, 2026
- FY2025 Internal Bank Annual ReportOSU Board of Trustees · March 2026; balances June 30, 2025; Table 2
- FY2025 audited annual financial reportOregon State University · Year ended June 30, 2025; MD&A pp. 15–16
- Revenue share and NILOregon State Athletics · 2026 program information; checked Sep 13, 2026
- CBS Sports partnership through 2030–31Pac-12 · June 23, 2025
- The CW partnership through 2030–31Pac-12 · August 27, 2025
- USA Sports five-year partnershipPac-12 · November 13, 2025
- Joint statement regarding litigation settlementsMountain West / Pac-12 and member institutions · August 4, 2026
- Revenue distributionCollege Football Playoff · 2025–26 and 2026–27 sections; checked Sep 13, 2026
- FY2025–26 fundraising momentumOregon State Athletics · August 3, 2026
- 2026 football season ticket and parking informationOregon State Athletics · Maintained FAQ; checked Sep 13, 2026
- Oregon State athletics reports surplus in FY2025James Crepea / The Oregonian, syndicated by Yahoo · February 1, 2026 · secondary reporting of NCAA filing
- Oregon State FY2025 NCAA financial dataCollege Sports Finance · FY2025 · secondary compilation of NCAA filing
- FY2027 operating budget packetOSU Board of Trustees · May 2026 meetings; conflicting support rows on pp. 10–11
- FY2026 operating budgetOSU Board of Trustees · May 2025; direct-budgeting change on pp. 4, 6
- Student-athlete NIL dealsCollege Sports Commission · Current policy; checked Sep 13, 2026
- A step forward for the Pac-12 ConferenceOregon State and Washington State presidents · March 25, 2024
Your scenario · saved on this device
What-if roster budget
Explore school payments, independent NIL, sponsor funding, and scholarship assumptions. All presets and generated player amounts are hypothetical, not OSU spending or verified contracts. Previously saved plans keep your values; use Refresh defaults to regenerate the model.
Model controls
Scenario and assumptions
School operated athlete budget across sports. This model is capped at the national settlement benefits ceiling, then football receives a share.
Percentage of the school operated benefits assigned to football. This is an estimated assumption, not a formal term.
Hypothetical independent business NIL funding. Legitimate third-party deals are separate from school benefits, but remain subject to reporting and review. School-funded money routed through another entity is still institutional.
Business sponsored NIL events. This is not school direct pay; the school direct pay source is the football share of the rev-share pool.
Model for portal retention, late adds, injuries, and midseason adjustments. This is not a formal category.
Scenario balance
Modeled headroom and funding balance
Hypothetical athletic department direct payments allocated to football.
inside revenue-share capHypothetical third-party marketplace, appearance, endorsement, and athlete business deals.
outside revenue-share capHypothetical sponsor-funded campaigns mapped to position groups or individual athletes.
outside revenue-share capAllocation Management
Team budget planning
Defaults to the 2026 scholarship situation with 103/105 and uses depth-chart estimation data where available. Edits are live: adding, deleting, scholarship toggles, and values update the budget dataset immediately.
Hypothetical allocation from the selected scenario; source splits and athlete amounts are not verified contracts or payments.
Hypothetical allocation from the selected scenario; source splits and athlete amounts are not verified contracts or payments.
Hypothetical allocation from the selected scenario; source splits and athlete amounts are not verified contracts or payments.
Hypothetical allocation from the selected scenario; source splits and athlete amounts are not verified contracts or payments.
Hypothetical allocation from the selected scenario; source splits and athlete amounts are not verified contracts or payments.
Mobile Allocation Management
Mobile team budget planning
Compact mobile interface that shares the same saved workspace as the full editor. Creating, editing, and deleting actions stay in sync across the page.
Guardrails
Public-model flags
- The approximately $21.58M national 2026–27 benefits cap covers the whole institution, not only football. Scenario and athlete amounts are hypothetical allocations.
- Genuine third-party NIL and sponsor payments sit outside the revenue-share cap; institution-originated funds count even when routed through a contractor.
- Modeled headroom reserves the institutional pool and includes football school-payment overages and entered aid above an illustrative 85-scholarship baseline. It excludes other sports' incremental aid, Alston awards, carry-forwards, and other countable benefits; it is not a compliance balance.
- The first $2.5M of incremental aid counts institution-wide. CSC's 2026–27 policy fines scholarship-caused cap overages at $0.20 per $1 up to $2.5M; this is not a scholarship spending ceiling.
- The $65,013 aid default is a planning assumption, not each athlete’s award or a verified 2026–27 cost of attendance. Residency, housing, and individual awards vary. The headroom estimate omits other sports’ incremental aid, Alston awards, and other countable benefits; it cannot establish OSU’s compliance balance.
Source basis